ITIL 4, the newest version of ITIL

ITIL 4, the newest version of ITIL

ITIL 4, the newest version of ITIL 605 452 Maurits Baeyens
Digital transformation and technology are driving organizations to a new way of working in a rapidly changing environment. That is why it is time for a new edition of the most widely used best practice framework for IT service management in the world. ITIL has evolved and is ready to support organizations in modern times. AXELOS carried out a large-scale update process to change the traditional ITIL approach to contemporary insights.
ITIL 4 and not ITIL v4

The official name of the update is ITIL® 4. The four does not indicate a version number but a reference to ‘the Fourth Industrial Revolution’ characterized by robotics, artificial intelligence, nanotechnology, quantum computing, biotechnology, the Internet of Things (IoT), 3D printing, autonomous vehicles and much more.

What new concepts are there in ITIL 4?

The ITIL 4 basis is formed by the service value system (SVS), replacing the well-known “flywheel” – the ITIL service lifecycle.  

The four dimensions model from which every part of the SVS should be considered, replaces Processes, People, Products & Partners. The four dimensions, from which each component of the SVS should be considered, are:

  • organizations and people
  • information and technology
  • partners and suppliers
  • value streams and processes
What are the core components of the service value system?

The core components of the SVS are:

1. the service value chain

The service value chain provides an operating model for the creation, delivery, and continual improvement of services. It is a flexible model that defines six key activities that can be combined in many ways, forming multiple value streams.

2. The ITIL practices

An important observation is that the emphasis is no longer primarily on processes, but on practices; methods and their application. Processes are therefore described in less detail and mainly provide practical recommendations and tips for their implementation. The method of application and implementation is left to the teams according to the principles of Lean, Agile and DevOps. Each ITILpractice supports multiple service value chain activities, providing a comprehensive and versatile toolset for ITSM practitioners.

3. The ITIL guiding principles

The ITIL guiding principles can be used to guide an organization’s decisions and actions and ensure a shared understanding and common approach to service management across the organization. The ITIL guiding principles create the foundation for an organization’s culture and behavior from strategic decision-making to day-to-day operations.

4. Governance

Organizational governance is a system by which an organization is directed and controlled. Organizational governance evaluates, directs, and monitors all the organization’s activities, including those of service management.

5. Continual improvement

A recurring organizational activity performed at all levels to ensure that an organization’s performance continually meets stakeholders’ expectations. ITIL 4 supports continual improvement with the ITIL continual improvement model.

The purpose of the SVS is to ensure that the organization continually co-creates value with all stakeholders through the use and management of products and services.

ITIL 4 provides the guidance organizations need to address new service management challenges and utilize the potential of modern technology. It is designed to ensure a flexible, coordinated and integrated system for the effective governance and management of IT enabled services.

As you can see, another nice evolution of the ITIL framework, with focus on value and outcome of services.

Leave a Reply

    Back to top